AION 2 Quests Guide — Main, Regional and Command Quests
AION 2 quest types explained — main story, regional, command, daily and Spacetime Rift quests — with what is confirmed for the global build and what is not.
FAQ
What quest types does AION 2 have?
Which quests give the most XP in AION 2?
How many daily quests are there in AION 2?
What are command quests in AION 2?
What is Spacetime Rift in AION 2?
Are quests different in the global version?
Quests are the main progression engine in AION 2, and the game splits them into several families with different rewards, resets and daily limits. Almost everything written about them comes from the Korea/Taiwan service, so this page separates the structure that travels well from the numbers that do not. If you want the route rather than the taxonomy, the leveling guide covers how the families slot into a 1–45 run.
What quest types does AION 2 have?
| Quest type | Where it comes from | Frequency / reset |
|---|---|---|
| Main Story / Episode | The central story line; quest name marked in yellow | One-time, in sequence |
| Regional | The zone you are currently in | One-time per character |
| Side | Optional objectives around an area | One-time |
| Command | A repeatable contract family with a daily limit | Daily, capped |
| Duty | Recurring missions tied to specific systems | Daily or weekly, capped |
| Daily missions | A small repeating set given each day | Daily |
| Spacetime Rift objectives | The open-world PvPvE event in the Abyss | Tied to the event schedule |
Every row in that table is KR/TW reference, because NCSOFT has not published a global quest list. The categories are stable enough across secondary sources to use as a mental model; the counts, names and reset rules are not. Treat the table as a map of how content is organised, not as a checklist to complete.
The families serve different jobs, which is why the game has so many. The story moves you forward and unlocks systems. Regional and side quests fill the gaps the story creates. Command, duty and daily quests are the repeatable layer that turns a login into a routine. Spacetime Rift objectives hang off a scheduled event rather than a quest giver’s patience. Understanding which layer you are in is more useful than memorising any single quest’s name.
Main story and Episode quests
The yellow-marked Episode line is the one category nobody disputes. Every secondary source that covers progression agrees it carries the highest XP and gates the systems a character needs — flight as a combat mechanic, dungeons, the Abyss. It is also the only quest family that is genuinely linear, so it cannot be optimised by skipping around a zone list.
Because it is a gate rather than a grind, the Episode line is best read as a schedule. When it lets you continue, you continue. When it asks for a level, you do something else until you have that level and then return. The quests themselves do not reward clever routing; they reward showing up in order. That is why a story-first approach to leveling works at all, and why regional and side content is described as filler for the gaps.
One caution carries over from the leveling side: the global build’s content order may differ from KR/TW, so do not plan a route around specific story steps before you can see them in the client. The structure — story first, everything else to fill gaps — is the portable part.
Regional quests: worth the detour?
Yes, while you are already in the zone; no, if you would have to travel for them. Regional quests are bound to a location, which makes them efficient when they overlap the story’s path and wasteful when they do not. The reward density is lower than the Episode line’s, so the only thing that makes them worth doing is proximity.
Three cases where a regional quest earns its time:
- The story has gated on a level and the quests are in the zone you are standing in.
- The quest sends you toward content you were going to reach anyway, such as a dungeon entrance or a system unlock.
- The quest rewards something you are short of, such as currency or enhancement materials, on top of the XP.
And the case against: a regional quest that pulls you across the map for a fraction of a story quest’s XP is a net loss on a timed run. The leveling guide frames this as filling gaps, and that is the right frame — regional quests are a gap-filler, not a competing priority. Completionists should ignore this advice; there is nothing wrong with doing everything, it just is not the fast route.
Duty missions and Command quests: the daily and weekly loop
| Quest type | Cap | Reset | Scope | Evidence |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Duty quests | About 5 per day | Daily | Account-level cap | Secondary (mmoexp) |
| Duty / Command quests | 12 per week | Weekly | Per character | Secondary (Fextralife) |
| Daily mini-boss tasks | 2 per day, up to 14 total | Daily | Not specified | Secondary |
| Command contracts | Daily-limited; exact number unconfirmed | Daily | Not specified | Secondary |
The two numbers worth holding together are the daily and the weekly, because they are measured on different scopes. The about-five figure is described as an account-level daily cap, meaning it is a ceiling across the whole account rather than per character. The twelve figure is described as a per-character weekly limit on duty and command quests. If both hold on the global service, an account with several characters still has one daily budget but a weekly allowance that scales with the number of characters.
Treat this as the shape of the loop rather than the arithmetic. Community sources observe roughly five daily duty quests, a couple of daily mini-boss tasks, and a capped weekly total; the global build’s caps are not announced, and the naming may change. The practical takeaway is that this layer is where routine rewards live — the reason to log in on a quiet day — and that its caps are deliberately low enough to be finished rather than farmed.
What each quest type actually rewards
| Quest type | Rewards described regionally | Evidence |
|---|---|---|
| Main Story / Episode | Highest XP, plus system unlocks | KR/TW reference |
| Regional / Side | XP, scaled to the zone | KR/TW reference |
| Command | Kina, Enhancement Stones, crystals; Stigma Shard contracts | Secondary |
| Duty | Kina, Enhancement Stones, crystals | Secondary |
| Spacetime Rift | Event rewards tied to the Abyss, including Abyss Points | KR/TW reference |
| All of the above | Exact global values | Not announced |
The reward table is where the quest system touches the economy. Command and duty quests are described as feeding Kina and Enhancement Stones, with crystal rewards alongside, and command contracts are one of the sources for Stigma Shards. That makes the repeatable layer a supplier for the gear progression and stigma systems, not just an XP faucet. If you are short of enhancement materials, the daily loop is where the game expects you to look.
None of the quantities are published for global. What matters for planning is the connection, not a number: quests do not only level you, they stock the currencies that the upgrade systems consume.
Spacetime Rift and timed objectives
Spacetime Rift is an open-world PvPvE event tied to the Abyss, and it carries associated quest objectives. On the Korea/Taiwan service an official press release shortened its cycle from four hours to three and raised its capacity from 200 to 400 players. Those are region-server figures and must not be read as global rules; the global cadence and capacity have not been announced.
What the event adds to the quest picture is timing. Unlike the daily loop, which you can complete whenever you log in, Rift objectives are attached to a schedule, and War Mode on the regional service runs a 70-minute cooldown — another KR/TW number, not a global one. Timed content rewards showing up at the right moment rather than grinding, so the useful habit is knowing the window, not memorising a reward table. The Abyss guide covers how the Rift and its points system fit the wider PvPvE loop.
The Scale Test did include rift content within its level-37 cap, so the system exists on the global client. Its schedule, however, is unknown.
What is still unconfirmed for global
| Question | Global status |
|---|---|
| Total quest count | Not announced |
| Quest names and categories | Not announced |
| Daily duty cap | Secondary — about 5, account-level |
| Weekly duty / command cap | Secondary — 12, per character |
| Reward tables | Not announced |
| Spacetime Rift cycle and capacity | Not announced (KR/TW: 3h, 400) |
| Global quest order | Not announced |
The global build’s quest layer is one of the clearest cases of “structure yes, numbers no.” The families exist, they clearly map onto levelling, gear and PvP rewards, and the daily and weekly cadences are the kind of thing a live-service MMO needs. But the counts, caps and rewards are all region-service material, and the global client has published none of them. For why a KR/TW quest list cannot simply be copied onto the global build, read the global vs Korea and Taiwan comparison. If you are still choosing a character to run these quests on, the classes overview is the better starting point.
Sources and verification
- Quest-type structure, story-first priority and the daily/weekly loop — KR/TW reference and community-reported (Fextralife, skycoach, r/Aion2 and similar; not NCSOFT global material)
- Daily duty cap of about five, account-level — mmoexp (secondary, KR/TW reference)
- Weekly duty / command cap of twelve per character — Fextralife (secondary, KR/TW reference)
- Command and duty quest rewards (Kina, Enhancement Stones, crystals; command contracts as a Stigma Shard source) — secondary, KR/TW reference
- Spacetime Rift cycle 4h→3h, capacity 200→400 and War Mode 70-minute cooldown — KR/TW official press release, region server only
- Global quest count, daily and weekly caps, reward tables and Spacetime Rift schedule — not announced as of September 24, 2026
- Launch Scale Test content set, including rift — Official, September 17–18, 2026
Evidence level: KR/TW reference and community-reported for quest mechanics; Official only for the fact that these systems exist in the global build. Every number here describes the Korea/Taiwan service unless explicitly marked otherwise.
Related Articles
guides
AION 2 Console Release Date — PS5, Xbox and Cross-Play Status
Is AION 2 coming to PS5 or Xbox? What NCSOFT confirmed at Gamescom 2026, why cross-play is unlikely, and the PC-only October 5 evidence.
guides
Is AION 2 Free to Play? Price, Founders and Pay-to-Win Answer
Yes, AION 2 is free to play on PC from October 5, 2026. What free includes, what Founder Packs add, and where the pay-to-win verdict lives.
classes
AION 2 Brawler — The Class That Is Not in the Global Launch
The AION 2 Brawler is a gauntlet melee class built on combos and a Rage gauge. It is not in the October 5 global launch — here is what it is and when it may arrive.
Was this helpful?
Thanks for the feedback!